March 30, 2008

  • oh... my... god...

    So I was realllllly bored right now and I just spontaneously decided to see if my OkCupid account was still there... WOW! I haven't visited it in TWO YEARS and my profile sounds so cheery and full of stuff that I wouldn't normally say nowadays... Blehhhhh... I guess the sparkle in my eyes and lofty dreams of academia was at its highest at that point. It is always fun to look back at the past and see how much of your personality changed... I guess I became more realistic now, and I went from being hopeful to wistful... Yes, I am feeling the weight of my years already T_T And I started a basic anti-aging regimen already since only way to deal with wrinkles is to prevent them (nonsurgically speaking). It's retinol retinol retinol from here on~ Well, I know I don't have to worry right now, but it really helps to even out my skin tone and keep the acne and redness down. *sigh* And I know the next step up is facial treatments and peels and masks and whole bunch of skincare that is really bothersome unless you go to a spa... Hmmm, I lived in Korea, I could get those for free since my cousin owns a spa... I got a facial and massage done when I went, and it was SOOOOO NICE~~~ And most of the beauty/skincare/makeup treatments are really cheap there... Eyelash extensions run from roughly 30 bucks and up, and I got my perm+hair treatment for 80... Here in ktown it would be 200 bucks at cheapest... Ahhhh I miss Korea already! It's such an amazing place on all levels.

    Urgh, I got my MRI done for my retarded left shoulder, and now I just have to go and see what the doc says about it. The MRI process was really weird for me, since I felt like they were sliding me into a white coffin... I'm not very claustrophobic, but when you're enclosed in such a small space with your face less than a foot away from the "ceiling" part, it kinda makes you panicky. So I just had my eyes closed the whole time, trying to shut out the whirring/clicking noises and pretending that I was lying in a wide, open space.

    Also decided to apply for an internship at a nearby hospital on a whim at the last minute, and I got it... It's always disorienting when opportunities come so easily when you're not really thinking about it, but when you actually do, it is harder to attain. Weird. Anyways, it'll be a good experience since I will learn to read and maybe use most of the monitoring machines in the telemetry unit. Although I am dreading the classes in reading the ECG and EKG machines since at this point they all look like squiggles to me... I'm such a horrible student, I know. But it'll be a good experience for see what else is out there... there's so many fields that I can branch out in nursing... Psych can be my backup option, since it's pretty chill. I am pretty used to the wards now, and the people are realllllly interesting. Well, the really schizophrenic patients are scary at times... but that's another story. The bipolar patients in their manic state are pretty interesting to talk to. They have no impulse control at times, and they speak whatever they feel like, so you can imagine the shock factor. I think the psych clinicals are the funniest so far... there's just so much that goes on in there... oh! And I learned how to play gin rummy since this patient taught us how to play~ It's a REALLY fun game, since it's a bit complicated and you play off of other people's cards... It's fantastic!

Comments (2)

  • I'm thankful that you're having a good time at school.

    보고싶어~

  • Hahaha... OkCupid... Man, the memories. ;) But yeah, I think we were happier then, maybe more carefree... Yeah, I've grown up a lot in college.

    It's pretty neat that everything is so much cheaper in Asian countries but we have to remember that they have a lower standard of living, and why charge $200 for spa treatment when one will be easily outcompeted by other businesses? No Asian in those countries will pay that much unless it's super good or maybe if they're in Japan. But what do I know... I've never gotten it done there. XD

    Good luck with your MRI results. I hope you will not be too stressed out by the results. Same thing with nursing deal. Continue to ask around and see what's out there and I'm sure you'll find your answer. :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories