March 7, 2008

  • tired tired tired crazy tired

    So... woke up at the crack of dawn, as usual, went over to the mental court, tried not to be creeped out by the lady talking to herself who was sitting wayyyy too close to me when there were 7 empty seats available, did a 5.4 mile hike up Mt. Echo, went to my 5 hour psych ward rotation, and now my legs are screaming in pain.

    Yep, that's right. I've been experiencing the psych ward for a couple of weeks, and yeah... It's an interesting place. Most of the time, you go in and talk to them, to get a feel for the type of people who come in these units. Many are interesting characters, and it's very true about how the only difference between them and "normal" people is a crisis. Well, except maybe borderline pts... they are very hard to figure out... kinda scary... I just de-escalated a patient today, so that was pretty good... But I don't think I can handle bipolar patients just yet because when they are manic, they are reallllly difficult. And no, the psych ward is not how it is depicted in the movies and TV. It's pretty calm most of the time where I am. But it's never a dull day there, that's for sure. I really wish I can go into detail, but I don't want the HIPAA after me, so I'll have to keep it pretty vague.

    And then the med surg portion of the second semester. We just started off at full speed into cardiac mode... heart heart heart heart heart. And more heart. I've learned more than I'd like to about CHF, CAD, valvular disorders, etc... I think I am still in a daze... It's only like what, 3rd week? And the days are going by in a blur. But I'm happy to back, because it's getting more interesting. Can't wait to do med surg clinicals and IVs~!

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories